hello, you make my heart break

Hello,
You make my heart break –
Your eyes full of storms,
Deady as hurricanes.

I eat a gelato,
And I laugh when it stains the hem of my new dress.

You know what starvation feels like
When it first licks its lips
And takes a bite out of you.

And you are not on my television
as unreal as the dead on a sitcom.
And you are not in Italy
out of reach
Leaving me
out of touch

You are here,
Walking on the same pavement.
You are human,
Breathing the same oxygen.
Pushing blood through your
Terrifyingly mortal veins.

And we are made of the same stuff.
And we are children of the same God.
And we are totally human, both of us…

If our places were reversed,
I pray I would not curse you
For enjoying your sweet gelato
While I dreamed of bread.

Tags: , , , ,

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

3 responses to “hello, you make my heart break”

  1. zumpoems says :

    Very effective! Well written but none of the technique overpowers the message.

  2. koatmeal says :

    I love how real you are… I admire you.

Leave a Reply

