spirulina

The taste of spirulina
Reminds me of the sea,
And everything the ocean took from me.

The summer was a tin
Oscillating fan
Throwing back the sheets of heat
Playing with sand
in our hair.
Our hearts burned, but no one cared.

The autumn was the ocean
Roaring like a lion
A mane of white and salty water
Always ever trying
to push us down.
But we refused to drown.

We ate seaweed like candy bars
Cause all their rules
Couldn’t keep our hearts
From dreaming wild dreams.

We built castles like a shanty town
The ocean laughed at us
And it tried to drown
Our post-modern art, but our fearless hearts
Laughed at the ocean and called it a clown.

Winter was the bitter
electric taste of wind.
Winter was the warmth of
Standing next to him
and counting
Seagulls and the seashells
the ocean offered us
The ocean was our youth, the ocean was first love.

Spring was Sunday morning
Restful fleeting light
Threatening of Monday
The bitterest delight,
We know the end is coming,
By the sunburn on our hands.
We drink in every moment,
Try to hold on but we can’t.

Cause the ocean stole the ring
You made for me from spirulina.
The ocean roared away the words
I’ll never get to tell ya.

Yet the ocean is a living thing
The ocean never dies
It left its stormy memories
Lapping in our eyes.

The taste of spirulina
reminds me of the sea
And everything the ocean gave to me.

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

Leave a Reply

