a place of rest

‘The Lord your God is providing you a place of rest and will give you this land’ – Joshua 1:13

Are you weary? There are times in our lives when we come to a place where the battle’s been raging for so long we can hardly remember what it feels like to rest. We long for a place of rest, a time of peace. We start to lose hope we’ll ever get there, and we start to question God. “Why won’t You bring me to my place of rest?” our souls ask. But we must ask our souls – what do we consider our place of rest? In Matt 11:28-29 our Jesus speaks these words: ‎”Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” He is our place of rest. As Chamber’s said “Resting in the Lord does not depend on external circumstances at all, but on your relationship to God Himself.” Come to the place where you can say with David ” O Lord, my heart is not proud, nor my eyes haughty; Nor do I involve myself in great matters, Or in things too difficult for me. Surely I have composed and quieted my soul; Like a weaned child rests against his mother, My soul is like a weaned child within me. O Israel, hope in the Lord From this time forth and forever.” (Psalm 131 NASB) This is a psalm of total rest. And how does he arrive there? He humbles himself, surrenders the things too great for Him, hushes his soul, and enters in to the fullness of God.

The yoke of our Lord is an easy one. Dispel at once the lie that you have to strive after perfection, and realize this – you are incapable of attaining it! This is why Christ died! “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me. “I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness comes through the Law, then Christ died needlessly.” (Gal 2:20-21) It is He who lives in you, it is He who is your righteousness. He’s trying to sanctify you – stop getting in the way by trying to sanctify yourself! Each time we fail Him is simply a reminder of why we need Him. When we try to sanctify ourselves we say to God “You didn’t need to die for me, I’ll take care of this myself.” and we hurt ourselves by trying to do something we simply cannnot do! “Submit therefore to God….Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. ” (James 4:7-8) In simply submiting ourselves and drawing near to Him, we let Him be our righteousness, we let Him be our rest.

He says this is true! Believe it! He said He would bring the Israelites to a place of rest – and He did! He said He would come as Messiah – and He came! He said “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and you will find rest for your souls.” When we come to Him, we find our rest in Himself. He promises. Did you hear that? He is providing you a place of rest in Himself, and He will give you this rest. The faithful God promises that this is true! Believe, and throw yourself in to the endless goodness of all that He is. You WILL FIND REST!

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

Leave a Reply

