Buckets of Silver Moonlight

It’s raining out here
Buckets and buckets of silver moonlight
And little is clear
All that I see is vague as midnight.

And it’s cold
And our dreams are growing old
As the radio
Keeps playing along.

And it’s cold
And silence isn’t golden
All the birds in the trees
Have stolen our songs.

No, no. This shan’t be me.
I’m lopping down the trees
And the sound will shake the ground
And the people in the town
Will start conjecturing.
No, no. The rain will fall
And I’ll drink it in halls
Of continental congress rooms
While outside spring-time flowers bloom in fall.
But, oh that isn’t all.

It rained
In Africa today.
And I’m heading there
On the next available plane.
So alvederzein.
Nothing will be the same when I return.
But nothing can quench the fire in me that burns.

Not even rain.
Buckets and buckets of rain.
Cause if you could sell a love this strong
You would spend a life time with regret
For what is a song if you don’t sing, sing, sing?
Sing, sing, sing it till you’re gone?

It’s raining out here
Buckets and buckets of silver moonlight
But this much is clear
This life’s a bitter and beautiful fight

And I will be slugging away to the end.
I’ll be holding the broken. My friends,
I’ll be holding your hands, and when
This life is through.
I’ll be waiting with my Love for you.

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

Leave a Reply

