Mysticism and the Mighty One

Mortified, I fell to my knees on the floor of the bookstore. When I had prayed a few days earlier for a heart like Ezra’s, I had no real knowledge of the repulsion and heart break it would result in. On the floor by a somber procession of pristine books, I felt for the first time what it was to mourn the death mankind has chosen, and what is was to see your Beloved’s name abased.

Let me explain.

I love Him. He loves me so desperately and despite anything I ever have done and ever could do, He continues to love me. I hurt Him. I choose to love and worship other things instead of Him. And what does He do? He strips me of all those things until I remember – He is the only One that truly satisfies. He is the only One who can save me from myself. He is the Lord, my Jesus, the Christ, and I love Him, irrevocably, passionately, and forever.

One of my favorite things to study in His Word – the letter He wrote to me – is His names. They’ve become fond, the way nicknames are. My best friend is in love with a wonderful man, and they don’t just call each other by their first names anymore, they have nicknames. One of the most common is “baby.” It’s a common nickname for many people in love, but when they say it, you know, with every fiber of your being that when they address each other as “baby” they’re expressing how precious that person is to them, how tender they feel toward that person, how desperately they love them. My best friend calls her fiancé “baby.” I call my God, “Lord.”

When I say Lord I’m both reminding myself and acknowledging that He is the one Who has made steadfast promises to me, Who has stuck by me, who finds me precious and Whom I find most precious….Who loves me desperately. Each name of God – El Shaddai, Adonai, Jehovah Tsedkenu, Adonai Shammah… – is precious for a different reason. El Shaddai means He’s my all sufficient. Adonai Shammah means He is here. I delight in the power of their truth. “This is Who He is!” they cry. “This is character of the One I love!”

A few days ago, I read Ezra, and his passion for the Lord moved me. When he heard that that which was set apart for the Lord had been polluted, he didn’t shake his head, he didn’t get judgmental, he didn’t shrug his shoulders and turn his head – no – when Ezra heard this he tore his cloths, bowed his head, and wept. He mourned. This was his heart for the Lord. This was the heart I prayed for.

In the bookstore I came across a book, and the title made me smile. It was the “72 Hebrew Names of God.” I picked it up and opened to a random page. The pages talked about the power of the names of God and how we could use it for our own purposes, how we could use it to improve ourselves, how we could use it to make what we want to happen happen, how to get the sexual fulfillment that we want. Basically, how to use the precious name of the One I love, as an incantation to get what we lust after in life.

Mortified, I fell to my knees on the bookstore floor. I can’t describe how sick I was. How I prayed for the man who wrote it and anyone who read that book, how I pray that anyone who finds that book will look into those names enough to understand what they truly mean, how precious they are, and to love Him as I love Him, for He first loved us and gave His son to die for us so that we might belong to Him for eternity, be completed by Him now and forever.

The truth of His name promises, not to have the power to fulfill our ever-changing lusts, but to satisfy the deepest desires of our heart. If you do not know Him, I beg you to read John or Genesis, or both. If you do know Him, I pray you would reread them and examine yourself. For using His name like one would rub a Genie’s bottle isn’t just a practice of Jewish Mysticism, it’s a practice of the modern Church – the doctrine of “name it and claim it,” or “Health and wealth”, or even the false practice of prayer being a list of things you ask of God – all of these are the same sin. In each case we are trying to use Him to get what we want. Instead, let us surrender ourselves to all He is, and receive more than we could ever imagine!

If He is all His names describe Him to be, He is more than sufficient, He is more than powerful, He is more than loving… He is more than everything we need! I’m praying for you, reader, whoever you are, that you would run into His loving arms and experience His presence and all that He is. I invite you to come, right now, and pray these words:

“Our Father, Who is in heaven, hallowed be Your Name. ”

Lord, incline my heart to respect, honor, and love Your Name.

“Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven”

Lord, bring about Your will, not mine, for Your will is so much more wonderful, Your will is everything I need.

“Give us this day our daily bread.”

Lord, please give me just what I need for today so I may be fully dependent on You to satisfy all my needs.

“And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.”

Lord, You know all the awful things I have done and will continue to do and yet You sent your son to die to pay for my sins and enable me to be in your Presence now in part and soon in fullness. By Your death my sins are forgiven and I thank You for that. But I have broken Your commandments, and this has hurt our fellowship. So, Lord, I ask in the name of Your son Jesus who died, who sits at Your right hand, speaking on my behalf, that You would forgive me and we can return to an even closer closeness than I have ever known with You. And, please, fill my heart with forgiveness for others in the realization of all the forgiveness You have given me. Now that our love relationship is restored by You forgiving me, help me to forgive others so that I may love my neighbor as myself.

“And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from the evil one.”

Lord, Satan hates You, and he desires to destroy me and tear me away from You. But you are stronger! You are greater than Him and You are inside me. So Lord, deliver me from Him. I know You will.

“For Thine is the kingdom and the glory and the power forever and ever, Amen.”

All heaven, earth, people, and the spiritual realm belong to You, Lord! How great You are! All glory is Yours! All power is Yours! Forever and Ever!
Amen – so be it.

Ps. I love You.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

Leave a Reply

