My Moment of Brilliant Light

As a one who has grown up in a Christian home, Biblical Christianity has been my home. It has been the environment in which I was raised. I was the child who accepted Jesus at a kindergarten age and would imagine myself falling asleep with my head on Jesus’ lap when I was afraid of the dark.

This is a beautiful thing, and I am blessed to have had this opportunity. But I, like many who have grown up in such an environment, sometimes feel the lack of that cataclysmic salvation – that moment of brilliant light breaking through the darkness. This is due, I am increasingly led to believe, from the fact that all this while I have been living in a delusion – a dream.

I have grown up believing that I was born into a Christian home and accepted Christ. Now I am a Christian. This is my identity. The Cross has never made me shiver with thankful awe. I am thankful, of course, but where is the cataclysmic bang in my identity being a child born into Christianity and then accepting it? The bang comes with the shocking cold water of reality – I was born into sin.

If you’ve been raised in Christianity, you probably just yawned. But listen! Think about what this really means. This means that spiritually, I am the child of murder, harlotry, highway robbery, betrayal…hideous horrible sin. This is my heritage. This is what’s in my blood. This is what I am inclined to. Like a child whose mother is a drug addict, in my most innocent infancy I desire the drug – the deadly drug of Sin.

I am a desperate, horrible human being by nature. And for this horrible, criminal, sin drug-addict that I am… for THIS the perfect, holy, covenant Lord and Creator Judge, paid the price of His very life to rescue me – a wretched, unlovable child, spitting in His face – from the damnation I deserve, so that I might be His child, His friend, His beloved bride, so that I could be with Him for eternity.

This is salvation. This is perfect love. This is beautiful judgement. When my God sweeps down upon the earth to judge His world, He will look upon the faces of mankind whom He paid the ransom for, and the ones who accepted His ransom – though they are by nature as dirty and filthy as the rest – can boldly run to that Judge, fall at His feet, and be held in His arms.

When the day of Judgement comes, we cannot say to Him ‘I am the one who did these good things…so you will judge me rightly and not let me take the judgement.’ No! For we can never reach His standard of perfection. When we meet Him on that day, we who truly know Him will say “Lord, here I am! Me – Your child – the one You saved!”

This is your identity, beloved! This is your moment of brilliant light!

Fall at His feet. Thank Him. For He has shown a merciful love we cannot fathom in a judgement more just than we can comprehend.

If you realize that till now you have not truly known Him, I invite you – beg you – to cry out to the One who has paid your debt and saved your soul. Believe that He is the Christ. Confess your sins, and accept Him as your Savior. Read the book of John. Seek out the Lord through the truth of His Word given to us in the Holy Bible.

To Him be “the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen”

Tags: , , ,

About Audrey Ashira

Audrey means strength. Ashira means song. "The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father's God, and I will extol Him." Exodus 15:2

Leave a Reply

